Russian economy

The 8-quarter long recession was the longest in the country’s recent history. The Russian economy lost about 5% of GDP and 5 years of development. However, a number of indicators demonstrate that the acute phase of the crisis is already in the past, and growth of the economy is stabilizing

The most plausible scenario is the further adaptation of the economy and growth rates of 1.5%–2% in the medium term. At the same time, risks that the macroeconomic situation may deteriorate remain in place. Key risks are unfavorable changes in oil and gas prices and new sanctions against Russia.

Results of 2016

The trends of Russia’s economic development in 2016 can be viewed as positive. Rosstat estimates that GDP declined by 0.2% compared to a 2.8% drop in 2015. Оn a YoY basis, the GDP decline of 0.4% in Q1 was followed by an increase of 0.3% in Q4 2016. The decline in retail trade and construction was offset by growth in industry, transport, and agriculture.

But the Russian economy is still hampered by weak consumer and investment demand. Weak consumer demand can be explained by a drop in real disposable incomes of 5.9% in 2016, while retail lending came out of stagnation and by the end of the year showed an increase of 1.4% (without FX adjustment). The decline of investments in fixed assets slowed down by the end of the year, which gives hope for the further recovery of investment activity.

Throughout 2016, inflation slowed down under the impact of a tight monetary policy, weak domestic demand, and lower devaluation and sanction-related pressures. Annualized inflation decreased from 12.9% in December 2015 to 5.4% in December 2016, which allowed Bank of Russia to cut its key rate by 0.5 pp twice, in June and September, to eventually reach 10%. However, in the face of persistent inflationary risks, Bank of Russia plans to maintain a tight policy.

Oil prices registered an increase in 2016. In 2016, the average price of Urals oil was $42.1 per barrel. The exchange rate of the Russian ruble was determined by changes in oil prices and geopolitical risks, while the average USD exchange rate for 2016 was 67 rubles. Capital outflow slowed down to USD 19.2 bln compared to USD 58.2 bln in 2015, but on the contrary the banking sector registered a capital inflow of USD 1.1 bln following the sale of foreign financial assets. The external debt of Russia remained virtually unchanged in 2016, ending the year at USD 513.4 bln.

Urals oil price and ruble / dollar rate dynamics

Российская экономика

Продолжавшаяся на протяжении восьми кварталов рецессия стала самой долгой за новейшую историю страны: российская экономика потеряла примерно 5 % ВВП и пять лет развития. Однако целый ряд показателей указывает на то, что острая фаза кризиса уже пройдена и темпы роста экономики восстанавливаются.

Наиболее вероятным сценарием является дальнейшая адаптация экономики и выход на темпы роста 1,5–2 % в среднесрочной перспективе. Вместе с тем, риски ухудшения макроэкономической ситуации сохраняются. Ключевыми рисками остаются неблагоприятная динамика цен на нефть и газ, а также новые санкции против России.

Итоги 2016 года

Динамику экономического развития России в 2016 году можно оценить как положительную. Сокращение ВВП оценивается Росстатом в 0,2 % по сравнению с сокращением на 2,8 % в 2015 году. В годовом выражении спад ВВП сменился ростом: с 0,4 % спада в первом квартале до 0,3 % роста в четвертом квартале 2016 года. Сокращение розничной торговли и строительства было компенсировано ростом промышленности, транспортного сектора и сельского хозяйства.

Российскую экономику тормозят слабый потребительский и инвестиционный спрос. Слабый потребительский спрос объясняется снижением реальных располагаемых доходов на 5,9 % за 2016 год. В то же время розничное кредитование вышло из стагнации и по итогам года продемонстрировало рост на 1,4 % (без учета валютного курса). Инвестиции в основные средства замедлили падение к концу года, что позволяет ожидать дальнейшего восстановления инвестиционной активности.

Инфляция замедлялась на протяжении 2016 года под давлением жесткой денежной политики, слабого внутреннего спроса и снижения девальвационного и санкционного давления. В годовом выражении инфляция замедлилась с 12,9 % в декабре 2015 года до 5,4 % в декабре 2016 года. Это позволило Банку России дважды снизить ключевую ставку на 0,5 п. п., в июне и сентябре, до итоговых 10 %. Однако ввиду сохраняющихся инфляционных рисков Банк России планирует сохранять жесткую политику.

Цены на нефть за 2016 год выросли. Средняя цена марки Urals по итогам 2016 года составила 42,1 доллара США за баррель. Курс российского рубля определялся динамикой цен на нефть и геополитическими рисками, а средний курс доллара США по итогам 2016 года составил 67 рублей. Отток капитала замедлился до 19,2 млрд долларов США против 58,2 млрд долларов США в 2015 году. При этом банковский сектор, напротив, показал приток капитала в 1,1 млрд долларов США за счет продажи иностранных финансовых активов. Внешний долг Российской Федерации за 2016 год практически не изменился, закончив год на отметке 513,4 млрд долларов США.

Динамика стоимости нефти Urals и курса рубля к доллару США