Macroeconomics

The global commodity and financial markets have stabilized in 2016, which had an immediate positive effect on the Russian economy. Oil prices increased, and by the end of 2016 they were stable above $50 per barrel.

GDP GROWTH FROM 2010-16 (IMF DATA), as a % of the previous year

According to the IMF, the growth rate of the world economy slowed down to 3.1% in 2016 compared to 3.2% in 2015. The growth rate of global trade also declined to 1.2% in 2016 compared to 2.0% in 2015. As a result, the risks of shocks on global markets remain high, but the situation gives grounds for optimism.

First, the slowdown in economic growth in developing economies has been replaced by its acceleration up to 4.2% in 2016 compared to 4% in 2015. Economic growth has intensified in India, while the Chinese economy has stabilized, and the slump in Brazil came to an end. In the postcrisis period, emerging markets have become the engine of global growth, thus making the acceleration of their growth an important feature of 2016.

Second, the slowdown of growth rates in developed countries to 1.6% in 2016 (compared to 2.1% in 2015) was quite natural. In these countries, the economy almost exhausted its potential and it became more and more difficult to grow quickly. In the US economy, unemployment has fallen to precrisis levels, and the monetary policy continues to normalize. In the Eurozone, growth has intensified as the imbalances accumulated over the precrisis period become less severe, but monetary policy normalization is still ahead.

Макроэкономика

Ситуация на мировых товарных и финансовых рынках в 2016 году стабилизировалась, что сразу же позитивно отразилось на состоянии экономики России. Цены на нефть росли, и к концу 2016 года они находились выше отметки в 50 долларов США за баррель.

Темпы роста ВВП 2010–2016 годов (по данным МВФ), % к предыдущему году

Темпы роста мировой экономики в 2016 году замедлились, по оценке МВФ, до 3,1 % в год после 3,2 % в 2015 году. Снижались и темпы роста мировой торговли – до 1,2 % в 2016 году после 2,0 % в 2015 году. Таким образом, риски потрясений на мировых рынках остаются высокими, но ситуация внушает оптимизм.

Во-первых, замедление экономического роста в развивающихся экономиках сменилось ускорением – до 4,2 % в 2016 году после 4 % в 2015 году. Активизировался экономический рост в Индии, стабилизировалась экономика Китая, закончилось падение в Бразилии. В посткризисный период именно развивающиеся рынки стали локомотивом мирового роста, так что ускорение их роста – это важная особенность 2016 года.

Во-вторых, наблюдаемое замедление темпов роста развитых стран до 1,6 % в 2016 году после 2,1 % в 2015 году вполне закономерно. В этих странах экономика приближается к своему потенциалу и расти быстро становится все труднее. В экономике США безработица снизилась до докризисного уровня; продолжается процесс нормализации денежной политики. В еврозоне рост активизировался по мере снижения остроты накопленных за докризисный период дисбалансов, а нормализация денежной политики еще впереди.