Address of the CEO, Chairman of the Executive Board

AppealPhoto
Herman Gref CEO, Chairman of the Executive Board

Dear shareholders, clients, and partners:

We began the previous year in an unstable situation with rather conservative forecasts; however, stabilization of oil prices and the RUB/USD exchange rate helped the Russian economy find its way back to growth again in the fourth quarter of 2016 after two difficult years. As such, the policy of Bank of Russia remained rather rigid, which did not allow for lowering interest rates in the economy to the level sufficient to stimulate the growth of demand for credits. In contrast with above, Sberbank assets in 2016 declined, whereas due to systematic lowering of the funding cost throughout the whole year we improved the forecast several times, and as of the year-end we earned a record level profit for the whole history of Sberbank.

As of the year end of 2016, net profit of Sberbank Group under the IFRS reached RUB 541.9 bln, earnings per share increased by 2.4, return on equity equaled 20.8%, double increase compared with the result of 2015. By its return on equity ratio, Sberbank ranked first among the largest European banks and fifth among the world’s 100 largest banks.

Such a result would be impossible to achieve without radical transformations in the Bank’s business processes and considerable growth of efficiency. Sberbank continues its large-scale business transformation with the ultimate goal of turning into a high-tech digital company able to create the best innovative products for its clients in the ever-changing and more and more sophisticated environment.

In 2016, we made a number of considerable steps toward this goal in all areas of our activity.

In the realm of noncash services, we continued the accelerated transition of sales to digital channels. The number of active users of Internet banking and text-service is close to 50 mln. The volume of cash transactions is declining steadily. The share of noncash circulation on retail transactions exceeded 50%. Over 100 mln transactions a day are made online. We are constantly developing new mobile solutions, anticipating our clients’ expectations and reducing the time to market. It is evident that active growth in this area will continue in the future.

Apart from the whole number of innovative services and projects, in 2016 we launched the first ecosystem in the real estate market, and—despite the sharp increase of competition in the market of mortgage loans—we retained our market share at the level of 55%.

For several years already, we continue to track the level of NPS, an index that shows the client’s willingness to recommend Sberbank services to their friends and acquaintances, considering it one of the key indicators of our team’s efficiency. In 2016, the level of NPS of retail clients increased by 3 p.p. and reached 58%.

In 2016, we also did a great job of transferring our corporate clients to digital channels as well. Sberbank Business Online remote service system is used by 1.4 mln clients, over 99% of payments is made through this system.

Transfer of services to digital channels has a positive influence not only on the growth of our business volumes and improvement of client experience but also on raising our own efficiency. In 2016, due to increased use of remote channels, we could absolutely seamlessly reduce the number of Sberbank offices serving legal entities in the country by more than one thousand. We are also working on optimization of the retail customer service network, taking into account, however, the necessity of maintaining a high level of customer service and ensuring its continuity.

We continued the program of efficiency and lowering operating costs in 2016. Despite the conducted salary indexing, we were able to improve the operating expenses to earnings ratio to 39.7%.

Our internal processes and systems are undergoing a total transformation as well. In 2016, we completed development of the core of the base platform, implemented the principal business hubs, and launched the first product factories. Implementation of this project laid the foundation for the appearance of brand new technological solutions for maintaining competitiveness in the future. We also started implementation of the Sbergile business process, which enables flexible development of new solutions and the optimal speed of their introduction.

With regard to the area of risk management, in 2016, we continued to improve our systems, having introduced principally new transaction models of small entrepreneurial subjects assessment and an optimized approach to collecting problem debts from physical persons. We continue to introduce new instruments specializing in big data processing. The use of modern, innovative risk management technologies allows us to maintain portfolio quality significantly higher than the market.

“In 2016, we achieved the leading position in terms of cybersecurity in Russia and plan to proactively develop this area to better protect clients, Bank assets, and shareholders. This year, the security subdivisions of the Bank have prevented over a million suspicious transactions totaling approximately RUB 17 bln.”

Thanks to the implementation of the program Reliability 99.99 ahead of plan, the idle time of systems caused by incidents was reduced twofold.

Being a systemically significant bank in Russia, we see it as one of our most important tasks to raise the accessibility and convenience of bank services and finally increase the quality of life of societyas a whole. In 2016, we launched the project “A Bank with a Difference” aimed at making the bank services optimally comfortable for disabled clients.

Last year, we celebrated the 175th anniversary of Sberbank. By this date, we launched a project “The Art of Preserving,” which enabled the Russian people to visit free of charge the largest national and regional museums in 28 museums of 27 cities of the country, and as a result many museums boasted a record attendance rate. Also, very successful was the first exhibition in Russia of tactile paintings for the blind and visually challenged organized together with the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts.

Several years ago, we embarked on the path of great changes, without which it is impossible to retain leadership positions in today’s world. The culture of change has already become a part of everyday life for the Sberbank team of many thousands of employees, we learned to not be afraid of new things and to look openly to the future, creating it now with our own hands. I am very pleased to see a friendly team of ardent professionals aimed at self-improvement and achievement of the highest results, this is the best return on investments into our employees and corporate culture.

In conclusion, I would like to thank our shareholders for their trust in our team. Thanks to your trust and support, Sberbank capitalization in 2016 grew by 71%, strengthening the Bank’s leading positions on this indicator among the European and world banks. We shall put all our efforts into meeting your expectations by continuing the development and creation of additional value for the business in the future.

Обращение Президента, Председателя правления

AppealPhoto
Г. О. Греф Президент,
Председатель Правления

Уважаемые акционеры, клиенты, партнеры!

Мы начали прошлый год в условиях нестабильности с довольно консервативными ожиданиями, однако стабилизация цен на нефть и курса рубля помогли российской экономике в четвертом квартале 2016 года вернуться к росту после двух сложных лет. При этом политика Банка России оставалась весьма жесткой, что не позволило снизить процентные ставки в экономике до уровня, достаточного для роста спроса на кредиты. На этом фоне активы Сбербанка в 2016 году сократились, при этом благодаря планомерному снижению стоимости фондирования в течение всего года мы несколько раз улучшали прогноз и по итогам года заработали рекордную прибыль за всю историю существования Сбербанка.

По итогам 2016 года чистая прибыль Группы Сбербанк по МСФО составила 541,9 млрд рублей, показатель прибыли на акцию вырос в 2,4 раза, рентабельность капитала составила 20,8 %, что в два раза выше результата 2015 года. По показателю рентабельности капитала Сбербанк занял первое место среди крупнейших европейских банков и пятое место среди 100 крупнейших мировых банков.

Достижение такого результата было бы невозможно без радикальных изменений в бизнес-процессах банка и значительного роста эффективности. Сбербанк продолжает масштабную трансформацию бизнеса, конечной целью которой является преобразование в высокотехнологичную цифровую компанию, способную создавать лучшие инновационные продукты для своих клиентов в постоянно меняющейся и усложняющейся среде.

В 2016 году мы сделали в этом направлении ряд значительных шагов во всех областях нашей деятельности.

В сфере безналичных услуг мы продолжили ускоренное движение к переводу продаж в цифровые каналы. Количество активных пользователей интернет-банка и  СМС -сервиса близится к 50 млн. Неуклонно сокращается объем операций с наличными. Доля безналичного оборота по розничным операциям превысила 50 %. В онлайн-режиме проводится 100 млн транзакций в сутки. Мы постоянно разрабатываем новые мобильные решения, предвосхищающие ожидания наших клиентов, сокращая время от начала их разработки до запуска. Очевидно, что активный рост в этом направлении будет продолжаться.

Помимо целого ряда инновационных сервисов и проектов в 2016 году мы запустили первую экосистему на рынке недвижимости и, несмотря на резкое усиление конкуренции на рынке ипотечных кредитов, сохранили долю на рынке на уровне 55 %.

Уже на протяжении нескольких лет мы отслеживаем уровень индекса готовности рекомендовать услуги банка (NPS), считая его одним из ключевых показателей эффективности нашей команды. В 2016 году уровень NPS розничных клиентов вырос на 3 п. п. и достиг 58 %.

В 2016 году мы также проделали большую работу по переводу в цифровые каналы и корпоративных клиентов. Системой дистанционного обслуживания «Сбербанк Бизнес Онлайн » пользуются 1,4 млн клиентов, через нее клиенты проводят 99 % своих платежей.

Перевод сервисов в цифровые каналы положительно влияет не только на рост объемов нашего бизнеса и создание лучшего клиентского опыта, но и помогает повысить нашу собственную эффективность. В 2016 году благодаря росту использования удаленных каналов мы абсолютно безболезненно смогли сократить количество офисов Сбербанка по обслуживанию юридических лиц в стране более чем на тысячу. Мы также оптимизируем сеть обслуживания розничных клиентов, учитывая при этом необходимость сохранения высокого уровня клиентского сервиса и обеспечивая бесперебойность обслуживания.

Мы продолжили программу эффективности и снижения операционных издержек в 2016 году. Не смотря на проведенную индексацию заработных плат, мы смогли улучшить показатель отношения операционных расходов к доходам до 39,7 %.

Наши внутренние процессы и системы также полностью перестраиваются. В 2016 году мы закончили разработку ядра новой базовой платформы, внедрили основные бизнес-хабы и запустили первые продуктовые фабрики. Реализация этого проекта создала фундамент для появления принципиально новых технологических решений для удержания конкурентоспособности в будущем. Мы также начали внедрение производственного процесса Sbergile, обеспечивающего гибкую разработку новых решений и максимальную скорость их внедрения.

В области управления рисками в 2016 году мы продолжили совершенствовать наши системы, внедрив принципиально новые транзакционные модели оценки субъектов малого предпринимательства и оптимизировав подход к сбору проблемной задолженности физических лиц. Мы продолжаем внедрять новые инструменты, специализированные на работе с большими данными. Использование современных инновационных технологий риск-менеджмента позволяет удерживать качество портфеля существенно выше рынка.

В 2016 году мы добились лидерства в области кибербезопасности в России и планируем активно развивать это направление для защиты клиентов, активов банка и акционеров. Подразделениями безопасности банка в этом году предотвращено более 1 млн подозрительных операций на сумму около 17 млрд рублей.

Благодаря сверхплановой реализации Программы «Надежность 99,99» почти в два раза сокращено время простоя систем из-за инцидентов.

Будучи системно значимым банком в России, мы видим одной из своих важнейших задач повышение доступности и удобства банковских услуг, и в конечном итоге повышение качества жизни общества. В 2016 году мы запустили проект «Особый банк», призванный сделать сервисы банка максимально комфортным для клиентов с инвалидностью.

В прошлом году мы отметили 175-летие Сбербанка. К этой дате мы запустили проект «Искусство сохранять», позволивший россиянам бесплатно посетить крупнейшие национальные и региональные музеи в 28 музеях 27 городов страны – и многие музеи в результате показали рекорды посещаемости. Также с большим успехом прошла первая в России выставка тактильных картин для незрячих и слабовидящих, реализованная совместно с ГМИИ им. А. С. Пушкина.

Несколько лет назад мы встали на путь больших перемен, без которых невозможно сохранить и лидерство в современном мире. Культура изменений уже стала частью повседневной жизни многотысячной команды Сбербанка, мы научились не бояться нового и открыто смотреть в будущее, создавая его своими руками уже сегодня. Мне очень приятно видеть дружную команду увлеченных своим делом профессионалов, нацеленных на самосовершенствование и достижение высших результатов – это лучшая отдача от инвестиций в развитие сотрудников и корпоративной культуры.

В заключение хочу поблагодарить наших акционеров за доверие, оказываемое нашей команде. Благодаря вашей вере и поддержке капитализация Сбербанка в 2016 году выросла на 71 %, укрепив лидирующие позиции банка по этому показателю среди европейских и мировых банков. Мы приложим все усилия, чтобы оправдать ваши ожидания, развиваясь и создавая дополнительную стоимость бизнеса и впредь.